About the Society of Canadian Artists

Fostering the visibility and stature of the visual arts in Canada

The Society of Canadian Artists (SCA) is a national, non-profit artists’ organization dedicated to expanding the visibility and stature of the visual arts. SCA has representation in all of the visual arts media. We respect our historical roots, are aware of our current world, and are future-minded.

Officially founded in 1972 (although germinating since 1957), the Society of Canadian Artists is the young, national, non-profit artists’ organization born to foster and celebrate the visual arts in Canada. We are a collection of some of the country’s most committed traditional and new media artists and we welcome the new, the up-and-coming and the established.

What the Society does:

  • Fosters a community for artists through exhibitions, workshops, lectures and communications
  • Recognizes the highest qualities in art through a program of awards
  • Organizes and administers public exhibitions of the work of members and non-members , adhering to a standard of artistic excellence
  • Provides leadership within the arts community in Canada through the encouragement of original, artistic expression and experimentation in all media and all visual art forms

Society of Canadian Artists Board of Directors, Officers, and Regional Representatives 2018-2019


Ortansa Moraru, SCA (Director) ortansa.moraru@rogers.com

Past President
Ann Kruzelecky, SCA

Kathy Hildebrandt, SCA (Director) info@societyofcanadianartists.com

Krista Hasson, SCA (Director) art@kristahasson.com


Chair, Exhibitions
Karin Richter, SCA (Director) exhibitions@societyofcanadianartists.com 403-272-1471

Chair, Membership
David Harrison, SCA (Director) membership@societyofcanadianartists.com 403-281-5919

Chair, Associate Membership

Chair, Communications
Josy Britton, SCA Honourary (Director) info@societyofcanadianartists.com

Chair, Finance Committee
Amanda Kalcic, CPA, CGA, Associate, Bookkeeper a_kalcic@hotmail.com

Chair, Honours and Awards Committee
Mary Elizabeth Duggan, SCA

Chair, Newsletter Committee, Editor/Layout
Marissa Sweet, SCA (Director) newsletter@societyofcanadianartists.com

Chair, Publicity Committee
Kathy Traeger, SCA (Director) 

Chair, Social Media Committee
Sheila Schaetzle, SCA (Director) twitter@societyofcanadianartists.com

Chair, Website Committee
Ann Kruzelecky, SCA webmaster@societyofcanadianartists.com 


Atlantic Representative
Krista Hasson, SCA (Director) art@kristahasson.com

Ontario Representative
Elizabeth Malara-Wieczorek, SCA (Director) elathepainter@gmail.com

Quebec Representative
Raymond Quenneville, SCA (Director) renseignements@societyofcanadianartists.com

Western Representative
Conny Jager, SCA (Director) artbyjager@yahoo.ca


George Forgie